(From the ill-fated Beacon EP) 11/21/12

When she poured me my third glass of  black beer,
I must admit I looked into her blue eyes.
She looked deep in thought,
as she watched the cream rise.
And in the sweet silence,
we shared a friendly smile.

When she poured me my fourth glass of black beer,
I must admit I might have been pushing it.
Then some friends of hers came in,
and they laughed and talked.
And one of them put some death metal on the jukebox.
It was then I realized just how young she was;
it was then I realized just how young she was.

As I pretended to look at the bottles of liquor on the shelf,
I caught a glimpse in the mirror
of myself.
It was then I realized just how old I am;
it was then I realized just how old I am.

So I left my glass half empty
and went softly into the night.
I walked along the edge of a creek,
and looked at the stars in the sky.
It was so dark and quiet,
and I felt so alone.
It was so dark and quiet,
and I felt so alone.

